Early Years Foundation Stage

The EYFS framework sets the standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to their 5th birthday.

All early years childcare practitioners and teachers in Ofsted registered settings e.g nurseries, childminders and primary schools etc are required to deliver the EYFS for all of their attending children.

The main aim of the EYFS is to help each child achieve the five 
Every Child Matters outcomes:-

The EYFS is based on four themes

·To be healthy

· A unique child

· To stay safe

· Positive relationships

· To enjoy and achieve

· Enabling environments

· To make a positive contribution

· Learning and Development 

· To achieve economic wellbeing

How we achieve it ...

All our learning is achieved through a variety of play activities. The activities are based around a monthly theme which may be a festival (Easter, Diwali) or an event (Comic Relief, Mother's Day) or a general topic (flowers, transport, animals, weather). Each week we will have crafts and cooking, plus stories & rhymes that link in with our theme.

I will observe your child during these play activities and take photographs which will enable me to get a clear understanding of your child’s stage of development. I will then be able to link it to the EYFS and provide activities and experiences to support your child’s learning. Every Term you will be given a record of your childs activities which will include photographs, you will also be invited in to review your childs progress.

If you would like more information on EYFS please visit this website:

Department of Education - EYFS